top of page

The Mayberry Challenge!

I've been on a mission over the last few years to become more self-sufficient, more homegrown, and less wasteful. My goal is to cut my grocery shopping down, cut out store bought mixes and canned foods, and learn to make things myself from scratch. I've been doing this slowly for three years now, but I've been more into it over the last few months. Any time I make something from scratch that I used to purchase in the grocery aisle, I check it off my list, do a little dance, and move onto the next item. Recently, however, I was chatting with some friends about this personal challenge and was asked why I didn't share it with others. I didn't have a good answer, so here we are!


Welcome to the Mayberry Challenge!


Why call it Mayberry?


Because sitting on the front porch of my country house, listening to guitar music, and smelling a pie cooling in the windowsill is my dream. Watching my kids run wild on our 36 acres brings me immense joy.

I want the slow life that only comes from country living. I love old fashioned, homemade goods. I love seeing people sitting in rocking chairs chatting about life over a cup of black coffee. I love my windows open in the spring, and my wood stove crackling in the winter. I want the Mayberry Front Porch life.

I'm currently reading the Little House on the Prairie to my children, and after each chapter, we talk about the differences between their lives and our modern day living. I love their way of life, but I'm not about to ditch my fridge and washing machine in favor of salting my pork and hauling my clothes to the creek. I love the "old" way of life, just not quite THAT old. =)


We watch an episode of The Andy Griffith Show every Sunday night as a family. And every week I think, "That was such a beautiful time." That's the slow living I crave. I even hum the song Mayberry often as I do housework.

I know. I'm weird.


Long story short, I call this the "Mayberry Challenge" because... I started it, so I can do what I want! =)


The challenge is simple.


Section 1 is in the pantry. Make a list of the prepacked items you most often purchase, and try to swap them all, one at a time, for a made from scratch version.


Section 2 is to learn old fashioned cooking/preserving techniques such as canning, water glassing, making butter and cream, etc.


And Section 3 is to learn some old-fashioned skills that are quickly disappearing. Sewing, candle-making, gardening, etc.


If you'd like to join me in this challenge, you can find my personal list HERE! I'd love to see what items or skills you would put on your list! If you take on the challenge too, post what you're doing and learning on Facebook or Instagram and use #TheWildHaven and #MayberryChallenge so I can find them and see what you're learning!




Homeschool Tips

#1 

Create a routine rather than a schedule. Don't stress about when things happen.

 

#2

Plan your day around YOU. Don't try to do things like other moms, or the way a public school would. Work this into your life, not the other way around.

 

#3

Have FUN! You can learn a lot from being outside, cooking with your kids, or making a messy art project. Books are amazing, but they can be boring for young kids sometimes. Try to liven things up as much as possible. 

bottom of page