top of page

Mayberry Monday: Sourdough English Muffins


My sourdough starter is well over a year old now, and things are starting to taste sooooo good! It's crazy how much better these things taste with age!


I've been doing these Sourdough English Muffins 2-3 times a week for about a year now. I thought they were good last year, but they are amazing now! And so simple.


Last week, I made them as a side for our Shepherd's pie, and again for breakfast sandwiches. My kids like to eat them like pancakes or break them up and dip them in honey.


Wildling#3 just eats them straight off the skillet. She doesn't add a thing! And I think her record in a sitting is 7!

I have two little Wildlings who have gluten sensitivities, and they never have any issues with these. I'm a fan!



Making these is so simple. They need to rise for 12-18 hours, so I start them in the morning if we want them for dinner, or the night before if we want them for breakfast. Just mix together half a cup of fed sourdough starter (I followed these steps from Farmhouse on Boone to get mine started in May of 2022) 1 cup of filtered water (we use the Berkey Filter for our water and LOVE it), and two cups of flour. Depending on the consistency, you may need to add a little more flour. You want it to feel thick, like biscuit dough. Then cover with plastic wrap or a tea towel and let rest in a warm place for at least 12 hours.


When you're ready to cook them up, heat a cast iron skillet to medium heat and drop a spoon of coconut oil in it to melt. You can do this in a "normal" skillet too...but it won't taste nearly as good. Trust me. Then just add a tablespoon of course sea salt, 2 tablespoons of honey and two teaspoons of Baking Soda to your dough, mix till bubbly, and drop rounded spoons full into your sizzling oil.


Cook until it starts to brown around the edges, then flip over and cook the other side til it looks fluffy and brown. Typically, 2-3 minutes per side, depending on the pan.



Once you've flipped them over, put them on a plate with a paper towel or tea towel to soak up any excess oil. Then serve them warm with butter and honey, or use for a sandwich, or just eat them plain like Wildling#3 :)


These get better every time I make them, so I can't wait to see what they taste like NEXT year!


Let me know if you give it a try! My next step is to learn to make sourdough sandwich bread...if I can muster the patience!





Homeschool Tips

#1 

Create a routine rather than a schedule. Don't stress about when things happen.

 

#2

Plan your day around YOU. Don't try to do things like other moms, or the way a public school would. Work this into your life, not the other way around.

 

#3

Have FUN! You can learn a lot from being outside, cooking with your kids, or making a messy art project. Books are amazing, but they can be boring for young kids sometimes. Try to liven things up as much as possible. 

bottom of page